Skip to content

Publications C390-10 (R2015)

Sorry, no image available for C390-10 (R2015)

C390-10 (R2015) - Test methods, marking requirements, and energy efficiency levels for three-phase induction motors

Publication Year:

  • 2010

Total Pages:


Reaffirmed Year:

  • 2015


  • CSA
Updates #1 and 2 to this standard are available.

To download any updates and/or register for email notification of future updates click here

IMPORTANT: Enable the Macros when opening the Excel worksheet showing an example of a completed energy efficiency test report for three-phase induction motors.


This is the fourth edition of CSA C390, Test methods, marking requirements, and energy efficiency levels for three-phase induction motors. It supersedes the previous editions, published in 1998, 1993, and 1985, under the title Energy Efficiency Test Methods for Three-Phase Induction Motors, and Preliminary Standards C390.1 and C390.2, published in 1982. This new edition was revised to expand the scope to cover premium efficiency levels for 8-pole motors, update referenced standards, and update the Annexes.

CSA acknowledges that the development of this Standard was made possible, in part, by the financial support of BC Hydro, the Canadian Electricity Association (CEC), Hydro-Québec, Manitoba Hydro, Natural Resources Canada (NRCan), the Ontario Ministry of Energy and Infrastructure (OMEI), and the Ontario Power Authority.


This Standard specifies the test methods and marking requirements, and references energy efficiency levels for three-phase induction motors.

Note: The test methods contained in this Standard are not limited to specific types of motors, but where this Standard is referenced in regional legislation, some specific motor types might be included or excluded from the regulations.

This Standard applies to three-phase induction motors rated 0.746 kW at 1800 rpm (or equivalent) and greater.

This Standard establishes minimum efficiency levels for both NEMA and IEC motor designations covered by legislated requirements. Efficiency requirements for units rated for operation at 60 Hz are defined in Tables 2 and 3. Efficiency requirements for units rated for operation at 50 Hz are defined in Tables 4 and 5.

Note: An equivalent motor is a motor with the same torque output but with different kilowatt output and speed.

In CSA standards, "shall" is used to express a requirement, i.e., a provision that the user is obliged to satisfy in order to comply with the standard; "should" is used to express a recommendation or that which is advised but not required; and "may" is used to express an option or that which is permissible within the limits of the standard.

Notes accompanying clauses do not include requirements or alternative requirements; the purpose of a note accompanying a clause is to separate from the text explanatory or informative material.

Notes to tables and figures are considered part of the table or figure and may be written as requirements.

Annexes are designated normative (mandatory) or informative (nonmandatory) to define their application.

The values in SI (metric) units are the units of record for the purposes of this Standard. The values given in parentheses are for information and comparison only.

Publication type

Print Page

Tell a Friend

GST REG No R119441681
QST REG No R1006017360