Skip to content

Publications CAN/CSA-G12-14

Sorry, no image available for CAN/CSA-G12-14

CAN/CSA-G12-14 - Zinc-coated steel wire strand

Publication Year:

  • 2014

Total Pages:

26

Publisher:

  • CSA
A revision was published as notification that this is now a National Standard of Canada.

To download any revisions and/or register for email notification of future revisions click here

Preface

This is the fourth edition of CSA G12, Zinc-coated steel wire strand. It combines and supersedes the requirements of the previous editions of CSA G12, published in 1970 and 1978 (metric) and 1992, as well as those published in 1924, 1939, and 1950 as CSA B12, Galvanized steel wire strand.

When the metric version of CSA CAN3-G12 was published in 1978, the expectation was that the imperial Standard, published in 1970, would be withdrawn in due course. The changeover to SI units in the industry has taken place only in part, so the need for the imperial Standard continues.

This edition differs from the previous edition in the following ways:

a) Tables 1 and 1a were combined into Table 1.

b) The maximum tensile strength requirement (SI units) has been revised (see Table 2a).

c) Tables 3 and 3a were combined into Table 3.

d) Table 4a was revised to include the imperial equivalents for reference.

e) Table 4b was revised to include the SI equivalents for reference.

Scope

1.1
This Standard describes zinc-coated steel wire strand suitable for use as guys, suspension strand, span wires, and overhead ground wire strand. Overhead ground wire strand for electric power transmission is produced free of wire joints. Included are requirements for Grades 800, 1100, 1300, and 1500 (110, 160, 180, and 220). Zinc coatings for all grades include hot-dip Class A and electro-galvanized Class A, B, or C. Construction features include strands containing 7, 19, or more than 19 wires.

1.2
This Standard is not intended for use in the manufacture and purchase of galvanized bridge or ACSR strands, smooth coil track strand, or galvanized sash cord.

1.3
The values given in SI units are the units of record for the purposes of this Standard. The values given in parentheses are for information and comparison only. The values stated in each system are not exact equivalents. Each system is to be used independently of the other.

1.4
In this Standard, "shall" is used to express a requirement, i.e., a provision that the user is obliged to satisfy in order to comply with the standard; "should" is used to express a recommendation or that which is advised but not required; and "may" is used to express an option or that which is permissible within the limits of the standard.

Notes accompanying clauses do not include requirements or alternative requirements; the purpose of a note accompanying a clause is to separate from the text explanatory or informative material.

Notes to tables and figures are considered part of the table or figure and may be written as requirements.

Annexes are designated normative (mandatory) or informative (nonmandatory) to define their application.

Publication type

Print Page

Tell a Friend

GST REG No R119441681
QST REG No R1006017360

Passer au contenu

Publications CAN/CSA-G12-F14

Illustration CAN/CSA-G12-F14 non disponible.

CAN/CSA-G12-F14 - Toron d'acier galvanisé

Année de publication:

  • 2014

Nombre total de pages :

30

Éditeur:

  • CSA
Une modification a été publiée pour vous aviser que ce document est maintenant une norme nationale du Canada.

Pour télécharger les modifications et/ou pour vous enregistrer afin de recevoir les avis transmis par courriel au sujet des futures modifications cliquez ici

Préface

Ce document constitue la quatrième édition de la CSA G12, Toron d'acier galvanisé. Il remplace et regroupe les exigences des éditions précédentes de la CSA G12 publiées en 1970, en 1978 (système métrique) et en 1992 sous le titre Zinc-coated steel wire strand, ainsi que celles publiées en 1924, en 1939 et en 1950 sous le titre CSA B12, Galvanized steel wire strand.

En 1978, lors de la publication de la CSA CAN3-G12 utilisant le système métrique, il était prévu que la norme de 1970 utilisant les unités anglo-saxonnes soit retirée en temps voulu. Or, le passage au système métrique (SI) dans cette industrie n'est que partiel, le besoin d'une norme indiquant les unités anglo- saxonnes demeure donc toujours.

Cette édition diffère comme suit des précédentes :

a) les tableaux 1 et 1a ont été fusionnés pour créer le tableau 1 ;

b) l'exigence relative à la résistance à la traction maximale (en SI) a été mise à jour (voir le tableau 2a) ;

c) les tableaux 3 et 3a ont été fusionnés pour créer le tableau 3 ;

d) le tableau 4a a été mis à jour par l'ajout des valeurs équivalentes en unités anglo-saxonnes à titre de référence ; et

e) le tableau 4b a été mis à jour par l'ajout des valeurs équivalentes en SI à titre de référence.

Domaine d'application

1.1
Cette norme décrit les torons d'acier galvanisé qui conviennent pour être utilisés comme haubans, torons porteurs, câbles transversaux et torons de fils de terre aériens. Les torons de fils de terre aériens pour le transport d'énergie électrique sont exempts de joints. Cette norme inclut les exigences des qualités 800, 1100, 1300 et 1500 (110, 160, 180 et 220). Pour toutes les qualités, l'enduit au zinc comprend les enduits par galvanisation à chaud de classe A et les enduits par électrozingage de classes A, B ou C. Les caractéristiques de construction comprennent les torons à 7, à 19 ou à plus de 19 fils.

1.2
Cette norme n'est pas destinée à être utilisée pour la fabrication ou l'achat de torons ACSR galvanisés, de torons de pont galvanisés, de câbles porteurs à surface lisse ni de câbles à châssis galvanisés.

1.3
Les valeurs indiquées en unités SI sont les valeurs officielles dans cette norme. Les valeurs entre parenthèses sont données à titre d'information et pour fin de comparaison seulement. Les valeurs indiquées dans chaque système ne sont pas exactement équivalentes. Chaque système est conçu pour être utilisé de manière indépendante de l'autre.

1.4
Dans cette norme, le terme «doit» indique une exigence, c'est-à-dire une prescription que l'utilisateur doit respecter pour assurer la conformité à la norme ; «devrait» indique une recommandation ou ce qu'il est conseillé mais non obligatoire de faire ; et «peut» indique une possibilité ou ce qu'il est permis de faire.

Les notes qui accompagnent les articles ne comprennent pas de prescriptions ni de recommandations. Elles servent à séparer du texte les explications ou les renseignements qui ne font pas proprement partie de la norme.

Les notes au bas des figures et des tableaux font partie de ceux-ci et peuvent être rédigées comme des prescriptions.

Les annexes sont qualifiées de normatives (obligatoires) ou d'informatives (facultatives) pour en préciser l'application.

Type de publication

Imprimer cette page

En parler à un ami

No d'enregistrement TPS R119441681
No d'enregistrement TV du Québec R1006017360