Skip to content

Publications C381.2-17

Sorry, no image available for C381.2-17

C381.2-17 - Energy performance of battery-charging systems and uninterruptible power supplies

Publication Year:

  • 2017

Total Pages:

43

Publisher:

  • CSA

Preface

This is the third edition of CSA C381.2, Energy performance of battery-charging systems and uninterruptible power supplies. It supersedes the previous editions published in 2014 and 2008 under the title, Test method for determining the energy efficiency of battery-charging systems.

This Standard specifies requirements, definitions, and test methods for determining the energy performance of battery-charging systems.

The Harmonization Committee intended that this Standard would harmonize with Appendix Y to Subpart B, Part 430 of Title 10 to the United States Code of Federal Regulations, entitled "Uniform Test Method for Measuring the Energy Consumption of Battery Chargers".

CSA Group acknowledges that the development of this Standard was made possible, in part, by the financial support of Natural Resources Canada (NRCan), BC Hydro, Hydro-Québec, Manitoba Hydro, and the Canadian Electricity Association.

Scope

1.1 General

This Standard covers the test requirements used to measure battery charger energy consumption for battery chargers intended to be operated from 115 V ac, 60 Hz line voltage connected by plug to wall receptacles or existing dc sources (such as automotive power jacks or USB ports). Uninterruptible power supplies that utilize the standardized National Electrical Manufacturer Association (NEMA) plug, 1-15P or 5-15P, as specified in ANSI/NEMA WD 6-2016 and have an ac output are included in the scope.

1.2 Purpose

The test method specified in this Standard is intended to complement the methodology contained in CSA C381.1. This Standard and CSA C381.1 define two classifications of products for the purpose of energy-performance testing; products within the scope of CSA C381.1 are not intended to be tested by this Standard. Annex B specifies requirements for determining the appropriate test method (CSA C381.1 or this Standard) for measuring a product's energy performance.

1.3 Exclusions

The following are not covered by this Standard:

a) a "medical device" as defined in Section 1 of the Canadian Medical Devices Regulations;

b) back-up battery chargers; and

c) dc output uninterruptible power supply (UPS).

1.4 Terminology

In this Standard, "shall" is used to express a requirement, i.e., a provision that the user is obliged to satisfy in order to comply with the standard; "should" is used to express a recommendation or that which is advised but not required; "may" is used to express an option or that which is permissible within the limits of the standard.

Notes accompanying clauses do not include requirements or alternative requirements; the purpose of a note accompanying a clause is to separate from the text explanatory or informative material.

Notes to tables and figures are considered part of the table or figure and may be written as requirements.

Annexes are designated normative (mandatory) or informative (non-mandatory) to define their application.

Publication type

Print Page

Tell a Friend

GST REG No R119441681
QST REG No R1006017360

Passer au contenu

Publications C381.2-F17

Illustration C381.2-F17 non disponible.

C381.2-F17 - Rendement énergétique des chargeurs de piles et des blocs d'alimentation sans coupure

Année de publication:

  • 2017

Nombre total de pages :

46

Éditeur:

  • CSA

Préface

Ce document constitue la troisième édition de CSA C381.2, Rendement énergétique des chargeurs de piles et des blocs d'alimentation sans coupure. Il remplace les éditions précédentes publiées en 2014 et en 2008 et intitulées Détermination de l'efficacité énergétique des chargeurs de piles : méthode d'essai.

Cette norme énonce les exigences, définitions et méthodes d'essai applicables à la détermination de l'efficacité énergétique des chargeurs de piles.

Le Comité d'harmonisation souhaite que cette norme s'harmonise avec l'appendice Y de la sous-partie B de la partie 430 du titre 10 du United States Code of Federal Regulations des États-Unis, intitulé « Uniform Test Method for Measuring the Energy Consumption of Battery Chargers ».

Le Groupe CSA tient à souligner que l'élaboration de cette norme a été rendue possible, en partie, par le soutien financier de Ressources naturelles Canada (RNCan), de BC Hydro, de Manitoba Hydro et de l'Association canadienne de l'électricité.

Domaine d'application

1.1 Généralités

Cette norme énonce les exigences d'essai utilisées pour mesurer la consommation d'énergie des chargeurs de piles conçus pour fonctionner à partir d'une tension secteur de 115 V c.a., 60 Hz par l'entremise d'une fiche branchée à une prise murale ou à partir d'une source à c.c. existante (comme les prises d'alimentation d'automobile ou les ports USB). Les blocs d'alimentation sans coupure qui utilisent une prise 1-15P ou 5-15P de la National Electrical Manufacturers Association (NEMA), comme précisé dans l'ANSI/NEMA WD 6-2016 et dotés d'une sortie c.a. sont compris dans le domaine d'application.

1.2 Objet

La méthode d'essai prescrite dans cette norme complète la méthode présentée dans CSA C381.1. Cette norme et CSA C381.1 définissent deux classes de produits pour déterminer le rendement énergétique; les produits visés par CSA C381.1 ne sont pas destinés à être mis à l'essai selon cette norme. L'annexe B énonce les exigences sur la façon de déterminer la méthode d'essai la plus appropriée (CSA C381.1 ou la présente norme) pour déterminer le rendement énergétique d'un produit.

1.3 Exclusions

Cette norme ne traite pas des produits suivants :

a) les « dispositifs médicaux » tels que définis à la section 1 du Règlement sur les instruments médicaux du Canada;

b) les chargeurs de piles de secours; et

c) les blocs d'alimentation sans coupure dotés d'une sortie à courant continu.

1.4 Terminologie

Dans cette norme, le terme « doit » indique une exigence, c'est-à-dire une prescription que l'utilisateur doit respecter pour assurer la conformité à la norme; « devrait » indique une recommandation ou ce qu'il est conseillé, mais non obligatoire de faire; et « peut » indique une possibilité ou ce qu'il est permis de faire.

Les notes qui accompagnent les articles ne comprennent pas de prescriptions ni de recommandations. Elles servent à séparer du texte les explications ou les renseignements qui ne font pas proprement partie de la norme.

Les notes au bas des figures et des tableaux font partie de ceux-ci et peuvent être rédigées comme des prescriptions.

Les annexes sont qualifiées de normatives (obligatoires) ou d'informatives (facultatives) pour en préciser l'application.

Type de publication

Imprimer cette page

En parler à un ami

No d'enregistrement TPS R119441681
No d'enregistrement TV du Québec R1006017360