Skip to content

Publications Z91-17

Sorry, no image available for Z91-17

Z91-17 - Health and safety code for suspended equipment operations

Publication Year:

  • 2017

Total Pages:

78

Publisher:

  • CSA

Preface

This is the sixth edition of CSA Z91, Health and safety code for suspended equipment operations. It supersedes the previous edition published in 2002 under the same title and the 1990, 1980, 1959, and 1949 editions published under the title Safety Code for Window Cleaning Operations.

Key changes in this edition include

a) updated requirements for davits;

b) clarification of requirements for portable equipment;

c) updated training requirements;

d) updated figures throughout the document to enhance readability;

e) requirements for rigging over building guards (particularly glass railings); and

f) inclusion of a new informative annex on the relationship between this Standard and rope access methods.

Introduction

The purpose of this Standard is to provide basic occupational health and safety requirements for persons working from or occupying equipment, both permanently installed and temporary, suspended from buildings or structures. Such equipment includes, but is not limited to, suspended platforms, bosunís chairs, stages running on inclines, and suspended work cages. It does not include elevating devices, platforms supported from the ground or building elevations, or equipment suspended from cranes or hoists.

Although the roots of this Standard lie in the window cleaning trade, the Standard is intended to be applied to any other type of work activity using suspended equipment. In developing this Standard, the Technical Committee considered the needs of specific activities such as exterior building cleaning, painting, application of sealants and insulation, brickwork repointing, renovations, inspections, and related building/structure maintenance. This Standard may also be applied to non-traditional activities, such as observation or photography, that are occasionally carried out from suspended equipment.

Although recommendations are made on appropriate equipment to use for various applications, provincial codes and regulations could have an added effect on the actual application to Canadian workplaces. The user is advised to seek this information in local codes, provincial labour regulations, and manufacturersí information.

Specific obligations and responsibilities contained in this Standard apply to equipment manufacturers, building/structure owners, building maintenance companies, independent contractors, operators of suspended equipment, and any person occupying suspended equipment. The criteria in this Standard are written in a way that will allow the Standard to be referenced in provincial regulations and municipal codes.

Scope

1.1
This Standard includes requirements for the safe operation of various types of suspended equipment (see Figure 1) used to gain access to interior or exterior, or both, sides, ceilings and soffits of buildings or structures. Much of the equipment referred to in this Standard is designed, installed, inspected, and tested in accordance with CAN/CSA-Z271 and other referenced standards. This Standard does not apply to crane-suspended platforms or baskets (see CSA Z150), multi-point bridge platforms, or hanging scaffolds.

Note: While this Standard is not intended to cover equipment design and building provisions, both CAN/CSA-Z271 and this Standard contain necessary information for design and operation of suspended equipment.

1.2
This Standard specifies the safety requirements for suspended equipment that is normally used for, but whose use is not limited to, window cleaning, exterior building cleaning, painting, application of sealants and insulation, brickwork, repointing, renovations, inspection, and related building/structure maintenance.

1.3
This Standard is not intended to prevent the development of new equipment or practices or to prescribe specifically how innovations should be handled.

Notes:

1) The use of practices, equipment, or safety devices that are different from those described in this Standard may be deemed to meet the requirements of this Standard, provided that it can be demonstrated to the satisfaction of the authority having jurisdiction, or the certification agency acting on its behalf, that these differences will not impair the suitability of the equipment or safety devices, or their intended use.

2) Information on the relationship between rope access and the equipment covered in this Standard and CAN/CSA-Z271 can be found in Annex C.

1.4
Where the requirements of this Standard are at variance with the requirements of other standards or codes referred to in this Standard, the requirements of this Standard take precedence.

Note: Refer to applicable jurisdictional building codes for information relevant to requirements for installations on buildings.

1.5
In this Standard, "shall" is used to express a requirement, i.e., a provision that the user is obliged to satisfy in order to comply with the standard; "should" is used to express a recommendation or that which is advised but not required; and "may" is used to express an option or that which is permissible within the limits of the standard.

Notes accompanying clauses do not include requirements or alternative requirements; the purpose of a note accompanying a clause is to separate from the text explanatory or informative material.

Notes to tables and figures are considered part of the table or figure and may be written as requirements.

Annexes are designated normative (mandatory) or informative (non-mandatory) to define their application.

1.6
The values given in SI units are the units of record for the purposes of this Standard. The values given in parentheses are for information and comparison only.

Publication type

Print Page

Tell a Friend

GST REG No R119441681
QST REG No R1006017360

Passer au contenu

Publications Z91-F17

Illustration Z91-F17 non disponible.

Z91-F17 - Règles de santé et de sécurité pour le travail sur équipement suspendu

Année de publication:

  • 2017

Nombre total de pages :

80

Éditeur:

  • CSA

Préface

Ce document constitue la sixième édition de CSA Z91, Règles de santé et de sécurité pour le travail sur équipement suspendu. Il remplace l’édition précédente portant le même titre, publiée en 2002, et les éditions publiées en 1990, 1980, 1959 et 1949 sous le titre Règles de sécurité pour les opérations de nettoyage des fenêtres.

Les principaux changements apportés à cette édition sont notamment :

a) les exigences relatives aux bossoirs ont été mises à jour;

b) les exigences relatives au matériel transportable ont été clarifiées;

c) les exigences relatives à la formation ont été mises à jour;

d) toutes les figures du document ont été remplacées afin d’améliorer la lisibilité;

e) des exigences relatives à l’amarrage par-dessus les garde-corps (en particulier les garde-corps en verre) ont été ajoutées; et

f) une annexe informative portant sur les liens qui existent entre cette norme et les méthodes d’accès par cordes a été ajoutée.

Le Groupe CSA tient à remercier Pierre-Luc Labelle qui a bien voulu revoir la version française de cette norme.

Introduction

Le but de cette norme est de présenter les exigences de base relatives à la santé et à la sécurité au travail à l’intention des personnes qui se trouvent ou qui travaillent sur des équipements suspendus, de façon permanente ou temporaire, à des bâtiments ou des structures. Ces équipements comprennent, entre autres, les plates-formes suspendues, les sellettes, les plates-formes coulissantes sur plans inclinés et les cages de travail suspendues. Il ne comprend pas les appareils de levage et les plates- formes qui prennent appui au sol ou sur le bâtiment ou l’équipement suspendu à des grues ou des treuils.

Bien qu’à l’origine, cette norme s’intéressait essentiellement au nettoyage de fenêtres, elle vise désormais tout type de travail faisant appel à de l’équipement suspendu. Lors de l’élaboration de cette norme, le Comité technique a pris en considération les besoins associés à certaines activités spécifiques comme le nettoyage de l’extérieur des bâtiments, la peinture, l’application d’un produit de scellement ou d’isolant, le rejointoiement des briques, la rénovation, l’inspection et les travaux d’entretien associés au bâtiment ou à la structure. Cette norme peut aussi s’appliquer à des activités non traditionnelles, comme l’observation ou la photographie, qui sont parfois menées à partir d’un équipement suspendu.

Bien que la norme contienne des recommandations sur l’équipement à utiliser pour diverses applications, il peut arriver que des codes et règlements provinciaux puissent avoir un effet supplémentaire sur l’application réelle dans divers milieux de travail du Canada. Il est conseillé à l’utilisateur de vérifier cette information dans les codes locaux, les règlements provinciaux du travail et la documentation fournie par le fabricant.

Certaines obligations et des responsabilités spécifiques énoncées dans cette norme appartiennent aux fabricants d’équipement, aux propriétaires des bâtiments ou des structures, aux entreprises d’entretien des bâtiments, aux entrepreneurs indépendants, aux opérateurs d’équipement suspendu, ainsi qu’à toute personne se trouvant sur un équipement suspendu. La norme est rédigée de façon à pouvoir être citée en référence dans les règlements provinciaux et les codes municipaux.

Domaine d’application

1.1
Cette norme énonce des exigences relatives à la manoeuvre en toute sécurité de divers types d’équipement suspendu (voir la figure 1) utilisés pour accéder aux murs, aux plafonds et aux soffites intérieurs ou extérieurs, ou les deux, des bâtiments ou des structures. Dans l’ensemble, l’équipement auquel cette norme fait référence est conçu, installé, inspecté et mis à l’essai conformément à CAN/CSA-Z271 et à d’autres normes de référence. Cette norme ne s’applique pas aux plates-formes, aux nacelles suspendues à des grues (voir CAN/CSAZ150), aux échafaudages ni aux plates-formes suspendues à des tabliers de pont.

Note : Bien qu’elle ne traite pas des dispositions relatives à la conception et à la construction de l’équipement, la présente norme, ainsi que CAN/CSA-Z271 contiennent les renseignements nécessaires à la conception et au fonctionnement de l’équipement suspendu.

1.2
Cette norme énonce les exigences de sécurité visant l’équipement suspendu qui est généralement utilisé pour ce qui suit, sans s’y limiter : le nettoyage des fenêtres, le nettoyage de l’extérieur des bâtiments, les travaux de peinture, l’application d’un produit de scellement ou d’isolant, le briquetage, le rejointoiement des briques, la rénovation, l’inspection et les travaux d’entretien visant les bâtiments ou les structures.

1.3
Cette norme ne vise pas à empêcher l’innovation en matière d’équipement ou de méthodes de travail, ni à encadrer cette innovation.

Notes :

1) Le recours à des pratiques, à des équipements ou à des dispositifs de sécurité qui sont différents de ceux décrits dans cette norme peuvent être considérés comme conformes à la norme s’il peut être démontré à la satisfaction de l’autorité compétente ou de l’organisme de certification agissant en son nom qu’en dépit de ces différences les équipements et dispositifs de sécurité conviendront à l’usage prévu.

2) L’annexe C fournit des renseignements sur les liens qui existent entre l’accès par cordes et l’équipement visé par cette norme et CAN/CSA-Z271.

1.4
Si les exigences de cette norme diffèrent de celles d’autres normes ou codes cités en référence, les exigences de cette norme priment.

Note : Se reporter aux codes de construction des juridictions applicables pour obtenir des renseignements sur les exigences relatives aux installations sur les bâtiments.

1.5
Dans cette norme, le terme « doit » indique une exigence, c’est-à-dire une prescription que l’utilisateur doit respecter pour assurer la conformité à la norme; « devrait » indique une recommandation ou ce qu’il est conseillé, mais non obligatoire de faire; et « peut » indique une possibilité ou ce qu’il est permis de faire.

Les notes qui accompagnent les articles ne comprennent pas de prescriptions ni de recommandations. Elles servent à séparer du texte les explications ou les renseignements qui ne font pas proprement partie de la norme.

Les notes au bas des figures et des tableaux font partie de ceux-ci et peuvent être rédigées comme des prescriptions.

Les annexes sont qualifiées de normatives (obligatoires) ou d’informatives (facultatives) pour en préciser l’application.

1.6
Les valeurs indiquées en unités SI sont les valeurs officielles dans cette norme. Les valeurs entre parenthèses sont données à titre d’information et aux fins de comparaison seulement.

Type de publication

Imprimer cette page

En parler à un ami

No d'enregistrement TPS R119441681
No d'enregistrement TV du Québec R1006017360