Skip to content

Publications N285.0.1-16

Sorry, no image available for N285.0.1-16

N285.0.1-16 - Commentary on CSA N285.0-12, General requirements for pressure-retaining systems and components in CANDU nuclear power plants

Publication Year:

  • 2016

Total Pages:

72

Publisher:

  • CSA

Preface

This is the first edition of CSA N285.0.1, Commentary on CSA N285.0-12, General requirements for pressure-retaining systems and components in CANDU nuclear power plants. This Commentary is based on the document titled Explanation of requirements in the CSA N285 series for CANDU nuclear power plants, which was written by Geoff Legg (AECL) and published in 1998 for members of the N285A Technical Committee only. The discussion provided in this Commentary is directed only towards the requirements in CSA N285.0-12 and does not address the amendments released since 2012. This Commentary also does not address CSA N285.6, Material standards for reactor components for CANDU nuclear power plants, which was released in conjunction with CSA N285.0. This Commentary does not provide formal interpretations of CSA N285.0 and should be viewed only as an informative annotation of portions of CSA N285.0. It has been written in informative (non-mandatory) language and is not intended to be adopted by users of CSA N285.0 or regulatory authorities as additional requirements. Significant changes between editions of CSA N285.0 are outlined, along with rationale for the changes, where needed.

This Commentary responds to questions and comments raised by those who have participated in developing and implementing CSA N285.0. It provides a context and explanation for the structure and content of CSA N285.0, and outlines the governing principles and requirements. The Commentary does not cover the entire content of every clause of CSA N285.0.

The intent is to update this Commentary after the publication of each new edition of CSA N285.0 so as to incorporate information associated with amendments to published editions and new editions, and to expand the Commentary as additional needs are identified.

Scope

1.1 General

The purpose of this Commentary is to provide background information for certain clauses and requirements in CSA N285.0. This background information can help the user to clarify the context of the CSA N285.0 requirements. Also, this Commentary refers to sources of material that were used during the formulation of some of the requirements in CSA N285.0. With the exception of the Annexes, the main clause headings and the main clause numbers used in this Commentary correspond to those in CSA N285.0-12.

This Commentary focuses on CSA N285.0 and is organized as follows:

a) the original intent of CSA N285.0, including

    i) historical background - how the nuclear industry developed in Canada; and

    ii) the differences between ASME Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code (BPVC), Section III, Division 1, and CSA N285.0, CANDU-specific requirements;
b) the aim of CSA N285.0, including the provision of

    i) rules for the design of the CANDU reactors consistent with the regulatory requirements;

    ii) requirements not covered by ASME BPVC, Section III, Division 1;

    iii) classification requirements;

    iv) registration requirements, including those for welding procedures; and

    v) requirements for repairs, replacements, and modifications;
c) the rationale for many of the requirements, which are derived from

    i) industry practice or experience;

    ii) engineering or safety analysis;

    iii) research or test programs; and

    iv) good engineering judgment; and
d) the evolvement of CSA N285.0 through significant changes in various editions.

This Commentary addresses requirements relating to the design and construction of pressure-retaining systems and components. Standards that relate to periodic inspection of pressure-retaining components are not addressed. Also, the requirements of other interfacing Standards and ASME BPVC, Section III, Division 1 are not addressed in this Commentary. The edition of CSA N285.0 that is addressed in this Commentary is the 2012 edition, not including Updates Nos. 1 and 2. Generally, the text is presented in the same sequence used in CSA N285.0, tracing the activities during the design, fabrication and installation of an item.

Although this Commentary can be read by itself, a better understanding of the Commentary will be obtained if a copy of CSA N285.0-12 is available for reference. Many of the requirements in CSA N285.0-12 are described in this Commentary. However, the Standard must always govern since it provides the formal requirements.

Note: ASME has published a companion guide to the ASME Boiler and Pressure Vessel and Piping Codes, which provides the criteria and a commentary on selected aspects of ASME Boiler and Pressure Vessel and Piping Codes.

Publication type

Print Page

Tell a Friend

GST REG No R119441681
QST REG No R1006017360

Passer au contenu

Publications N285.0.1-F16

Illustration N285.0.1-F16 non disponible.

N285.0.1-F16 - Commentaire sur CSA N285.0-12, Exigences générales relatives aux systèmes et aux composants sous pression des centrales nucléaires CANDU

Année de publication:

  • 2016

Nombre total de pages :

79

Éditeur:

  • CSA

Préface

Ce document constitue la première édition de CSA N285.0.1, Commentaire sur CSA N285.0-12, Exigences générales relatives aux systèmes et aux composants sous pression des centrales nucléaires CANDU. Ce commentaire est fondé sur un document intitulé Explanation of requirements in the CSA N285 series for CANDU nuclear power plants, qui a été rédigé par Geoff Legg (EACL) et publié en 1998 pour les membres du Comité technique sur N285A seulement. L'exposé présenté dans ce commentaire vise uniquement les exigences de CSA N285.0-12 et non pas les modifications publiées depuis 2012. Ce commentaire ne vise pas non plus CSA N285.6, Normes sur les matériaux des composants de réacteurs des centrales nucléaires CANDU, qui a été publiée avec CSA N285.0. Ce commentaire ne contient aucune interprétation officielle de CSA N285.0 et devrait uniquement être envisagé comme des annotations de parties de CSA N285.0. Il a été rédigé dans un langage informatif (non prescriptif) et n'est pas destiné à être adopté par des utilisateurs de CSA N285.0 ni des organismes de réglementation en tant qu'exigences supplémentaires. Des modifications importantes entre les éditions de CSA N285.0 sont indiquées, avec éventuellement une justification de ces modifications.

Ce commentaire répond à des questions et commentaires de personnes qui ont participé à l'élaboration et à la réalisation de CSA N285.0. Il fournit un contexte et une explication de la structure et du contenu de CSA N285.0, et il expose des exigences et principes directeurs. Il ne porte pas sur la totalité du contenu de tous les articles de CSA N285.0.

On prévoit de mettre à jour ce commentaire après la publication de chaque nouvelle édition de CSA N285.0, afin d'y incorporer des renseignements concernant les modifications apportées aux éditions publiées et aux nouvelles éditions, et de l'enrichir à mesure que de nouveaux besoins sont déterminés.

Le Groupe CSA tient à remercier Gabriela Deleanu qui a bien voulu effectuer la vérification de l'exactitude technique de la version française de cette norme.

Domaine d'application

1.1 Généralités

Le but de ce commentaire est de présenter des renseignements contextuels sur divers articles et exigences de CSA N285.0. Ces renseignements peuvent aider l'utilisateur à clarifier le contexte des exigences relatives à CSA N285.0. En outre, ce commentaire indique des sources de matériels qui ont été utilisées durant la formulation de certaines des exigences de CSA N285.0. À l'exception des annexes, les titres et les numéros des articles principaux utilisés dans ce commentaire correspondent à ceux de CSA N285.0-12.

Ce commentaire s'applique à CSA N285.0 et il est organisé de la façon suivante :

a) le but original de CSA N285.0, notamment :

    i) le contexte historique - comment l'industrie nucléaire s'est développée au Canada; et

    ii) les différences entre la division 1 de la section III du Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code (BPVC) de l'ASME et les exigences relatives aux réacteurs CANDU stipulées dans CSA N285.0;
b) l'objectif de CSA N285.0, notamment la stipulation :

    i) de règles pour la conception de réacteurs CANDU conformément aux exigences réglementaires;

    ii) d'exigences qui ne sont pas traitées dans la division 1 de la section III du BPVC de l'ASME;

    iii) d'exigences relatives à la classification;

    iv) d'exigences relatives à l'enregistrement, notamment en ce qui concerne les modes opératoires de soudage; et

    v) d'exigences visant les réparations, remplacements et modifications;
c) la justification d'un grand nombre des exigences, qui découlent :

    i) de la pratique de l'industrie ou de l'expérience;

    ii) de l'analyse technique ou de la sûreté;

    iii) de programmes de recherche ou d'essai; et

    iv) du bon discernement technique; et
d) l'évolution de CSA N285.0 au fil des modifications importantes introduites dans les diverses éditions.

Ce commentaire vise des exigences relatives à la conception et à la construction de composants et de systèmes sous pression. Les normes en rapport avec l'inspection périodique de composants sous pression ne sont pas abordées. En outre, les exigences d'autres normes connexes et de la division 1 de la section III du BPVC de l'ASME ne sont pas non plus abordées dans ce commentaire. L'édition de CSA N285.0 qui est visée par ce commentaire est l'édition de 2012, à l'exclusion des mises à jour nos 1 11et 2. En général, le texte est présenté selon le même ordre que dans CSA N285.0, celui des activités qui se déroulent durant la conception, la fabrication et l'installation de chaque article.

Bien que ce commentaire puisse être lu séparément, il sera plus facile à comprendre si l'on dispose d'un exemplaire de CSA N285.0-12 pour s'y référer. Un grand nombre des exigences de CSA N285.0-12 sont décrites dans ce commentaire. Toutefois, la norme aura primauté, car elle stipule les exigences officielles.

Note : L'ASME a publié un guide complémentaire de ses Boiler and Pressure Vessel and Piping Codes, qui donne les critères et un commentaire pour des aspects sélectionnés de ces codes.

Type de publication

Imprimer cette page

En parler à un ami

No d'enregistrement TPS R119441681
No d'enregistrement TV du Québec R1006017360