Skip to content

Publications N285.8-15

Sorry, no image available for N285.8-15

N285.8-15 - Technical requirements for in-service evaluation of zirconium alloy pressure tubes in CANDU reactors

Publication Year:

  • 2015

Total Pages:

261

Publisher:

  • CSA
Revision(s) to this standard are available.

To download any revisions and/or register for email notification of future revisions click here

Preface

This is the third edition of CSA N285.8, Technical requirements for in-service evaluation of zirconium alloy pressure tubes in CANDU reactors. It supersedes the previous editions, published in 2010 and 2005.

This Standard specifies mandatory technical requirements and non-mandatory evaluation procedures for fitness-for-service assessments. Pressure tubes in Canadian CANDU® nuclear power plants are inspected in accordance with CSA N285.4, Periodic inspection of CANDU nuclear power plant components. When a detected flaw indication does not satisfy the criteria of acceptance by examination, or when pressure tube to calandria tube contact is detected or predicted, Clause 12 of CSA N285.4 permits a fitness-for-service assessment to determine acceptability. Also, Clause 12 of CSA N285.4 requires evaluation of the results of specified material property surveillance measurements.

Note: CANDU (CANada Deuterium Uranium) is a registered trademark of Atomic Energy of Canada Limited.

This Standard is one of a series of CSA N285 Standards that provide consistent rules for the design, fabrication, installation, inspection, and assessment of pressure-retaining systems and components in CANDU nuclear power plants. The series outlines requirements that are particularly applicable to nuclear power plants in Canada and references the appropriate requirements of the ASME Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code. Users of this Standard are reminded that the site selection, design, manufacture, construction, installation, commissioning, operation, and decommissioning of nuclear facilities in Canada are subject to the Nuclear Safety and Control Act and its Regulations. The Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission might impose additional requirements to those specified in this Standard.

The CSA N-Series of Standards provides an interlinked set of requirements for the management of nuclear facilities and activities. CSA N286 provides overall direction to management to develop and implement sound management practices and controls, while the other CSA Group nuclear Standards provide technical requirements and guidance that support the management system. This Standard works in harmony with CSA N286 and does not duplicate the generic requirements of CSA N286; however, it may provide more specific direction for those requirements.

This Standard consists of a mandatory main body and five non-mandatory annexes. The main body contains the mandatory rules and acceptance criteria for in-service evaluation of zirconium alloy pressure tubes in CANDU reactors. The non-mandatory annexes are as follows:

- Annex A - Procedures for the evaluation of pressure tube flaws;

- Annex B - Procedures for the evaluation of pressure tube to calandria tube contact;

- Annex C - Procedures for the assessment of a reactor core;

- Annex D - Material properties and derived quantities; and

- Annex E - Notification of in-service evaluation form.

Annexes A to C contain evaluation procedures that may be used to demonstrate compliance with the acceptance criteria in the main body of the Standard. Annex D contains the material properties and derived quantities that are required when performing an evaluation in accordance with Annexes A to C. Annex E contains a form for providing notification of the evaluation to the authority having jurisdiction (AHJ).

This Standard assumes that the typical evaluation process consists of

a) pressure tube inspection;

b) evaluation of the inspection results;

c) documentation of the inspection results and evaluation;

d) notification of the AHJ regarding the inspection and evaluation; and

e) acceptance by the AHJ of the disposition of pressure tubes prior to returning the reactor to service.

This Standard is based in part on fitness-for-service guidelines developed by a Technical Task Team formed by the CANDU Owners Group (COG).

Scope

1.1
This Standard specifies the technical requirements for the owner/operator to ensure structural integrity of cold-worked Zr-2.5 wt% Nb alloy pressure tubes in operating CANDU reactors. Clause 13 of CSA N285.0/N285.6 Series requires that when in-service inspection results or material surveillance results do not satisfy the requirements of the original inspection program, a fitness-for-service evaluation must be performed in accordance with CSA N285.4 to demonstrate acceptance. The requirements of this Standard address the specific fitness-for-service evaluation requirements of CSA N285.4, Clause 12.

1.2
This Standard applies only to cold-worked Zr-2.5 wt% Nb alloy pressure tubes in operating CANDU reactors and to evaluation of the volumetric inspection results, pressure tube to calandria tube contact, and material surveillance measurements listed herein. The definition of pressure tube material types is provided in CSA N285.0/N285.6 Series.

1.3
This Standard does not apply to evaluation of pressure tube dimensional changes (other than pressure tube to calandria tube contact), material property surveillance measurements beyond those defined in CSA N285.4, or to other reactor types. This Standard does not apply to pressure tube materials other than cold-worked Zr-2.5 wt% Nb.

1.4
In this Standard, "shall" is used to express a requirement, i.e., a provision that the user is obliged to satisfy in order to comply with the standard; "should" is used to express a recommendation or that which is advised but not required; and "may" is used to express an option or that which is permissible within the limits of the standard.

Notes accompanying clauses do not include requirements or alternative requirements; the purpose of a note accompanying a clause is to separate from the text explanatory or informative material.

Notes to tables and figures are considered part of the table or figure and may be written as requirements.

Annexes are designated normative (mandatory) or informative (non-mandatory) to define their application.

Publication type

Print Page

Tell a Friend

GST REG No R119441681
QST REG No R1006017360

Passer au contenu

Publications N285.8-F15

Illustration N285.8-F15 non disponible.

N285.8-F15 - Exigences techniques relatives à l’évaluation en service des tubes de force en alliage de zirconium dans les réacteurs CANDU

Année de publication:

  • 2015

Nombre total de pages :

267

Éditeur:

  • CSA

Préface

Ce document constitue la troisième édition de la CSA N285.8, Exigences techniques relatives à l’évaluation en service des tubes de force en alliage de zirconium dans les réacteurs CANDU. Il remplace les éditions précédentes publiées en 2010 et 2005.

Cette norme stipule des exigences techniques obligatoires et des procédures d’évaluation non obligatoires pour les examens de l’aptitude au service. Les tubes de force des centrales nucléaires canadiennes CANDU® sont inspectés conformément à la CSA N285.4, Inspection périodique des composants des centrales nucléaires CANDU. Lorsqu’une indication de détection de défaut ne satisfait pas aux critères d’acceptation par examen, ou lorsqu’un contact entre un tube de force et un tube de cuve est détecté ou prédit, le chapitre 12 de la CSA N285.4 permet que l’acceptabilité soit déterminée au moyen d’un examen de l’aptitude au service. En outre, le chapitre 12 de la CSA N285.4 exige une évaluation des résultats des mesures de surveillance des propriétés du matériau spécifiées.

Note : CANDU (CANada Deuterium Uranium) est une marque déposée d’Énergie atomique du Canada limitée (EACL).

Cette norme fait partie d’une série de normes CSA N285 qui énoncent des règles cohérentes pour la conception, la fabrication, l’installation, l’inspection et l’examen de composants et de systèmes sous pression dans les centrales nucléaires CANDU. Cette série énonce les exigences qui s’appliquent spécifiquement aux centrales nucléaires au Canada et renvoie aux exigences applicables de l’ASME Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code. Il importe de rappeler aux utilisateurs de cette norme que la sélection du site, la conception, la fabrication, la construction, l’installation, la mise en service, l’exploitation et le déclassement des centrales nucléaires au Canada sont régis par la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires et ses règlements. La Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire pourrait imposer des exigences qui s’ajouteraient à celles de cette norme.

Les normes CSA de la série N fournissent un ensemble interrelié d’exigences relatives à la gestion des installations et des activités nucléaires. La CSA N286 énonce les directives générales de gestion pour élaborer et mettre en oeuvre de saines pratiques de gestion et des mesures de contrôle; les autres normes CSA du secteur nucléaire stipulent les exigences techniques et les lignes directrices relatives au système de gestion. Cette norme doit être utilisée de concert avec la CSA N286. Elle ne reproduit pas les exigences générales de la CSA N286, mais peut fournir des directives plus précises relatives à ces exigences.

Cette norme est constituée d’un texte principal prescriptif et de cinq annexes non obligatoires. Le texte principal expose les règles et les critères d’acceptation obligatoires pour l’évaluation en service des tubes de force en alliage de zirconium des réacteurs CANDU. Les annexes non obligatoires sont :

• Annexe A — Procédures d’évaluation des défauts des tubes de force;

• Annexe B — Procédures d’évaluation des contacts entre les tubes de force et les tubes de cuve;

• Annexe C — Procédures d’examen du coeur d’un réacteur;

• Annexe D — Propriétés du matériau et quantités dérivées; et

• Annexe E — Formulaire de notification d’évaluation en service.

Les annexes A à C exposent des procédures d’évaluation qui peuvent être utilisées pour démontrer la conformité aux critères d’acceptation énoncés dans le texte principal de la norme. L’annexe D traite les propriétés du matériau et les quantités dérivées qui sont requises lorsqu’une évaluation est effectuée conformément aux annexes A à C. L’annexe E contient un formulaire de notification d’évaluation destiné à l’autorité compétente (AC).

Cette norme suppose que le processus d’évaluation est en règle générale constitué comme suit :

a) inspection des tubes de force;

b) évaluation des résultats de l’inspection;

c) documentation des résultats de l’inspection et de l’évaluation;

d) notification à l’AC de l’inspection et de l’évaluation; et

e) acceptation par l’AC de la disposition des tubes de force avant que le réacteur soit remis en service.

Cette norme est fondée en partie sur les lignes directrices pour l’aptitude au service élaborées par une équipe de travail technique formée par le CANDU Owners Group (COG).

Certaines petites erreurs trouvées dans la version anglaise de cette norme ont été corrigées dans cette publication.

Domaine d’application

1.1
Cette norme stipule les exigences techniques auxquelles doit se plier le propriétaire/exploitant pour garantir l’intégrité structurale des tubes de force écrouis en alliage de Zr-Nb 2,5 % en poids des réacteurs CANDU en exploitation. Le chapitre 13 de la CSA N285.0/N285.6 exige que lorsque les résultats d’une inspection en service ou les résultats d’une surveillance de matériaux ne sont pas conformes aux exigences du programme d’inspection initial, une évaluation de l’aptitude au service soit effectuée conformément à la CSA N285.4 pour démontrer l’acceptation. Cette norme examine les exigences particulières relatives à l’évaluation de l’aptitude au service du chapitre 12 de la CSA N285.4.

1.2
Cette norme s’applique seulement aux tubes de force écrouis en alliage de Zr-Nb 2,5 % en poids dans les réacteurs CANDU en exploitation et à l’évaluation des résultats des inspections volumétriques, des contacts entre les tubes de force et les tubes de cuve et des mesures de surveillance des matériaux énumérées dans le présent document. La définition des types des matériaux des tubes de force est donnée dans la série CSA N285.0/N285.6.

1.3
Cette norme ne s’applique pas à l’évaluation des variations dimensionnelles des tubes de force (en dehors du contact entre les tubes de cuve et les tubes de force), aux mesures de surveillance des propriétés du matériau au-delà de celles définies dans la CSA N285.4, ni à d’autres types de réacteurs. Cette norme ne s’applique pas aux matériaux de tube de force autres que le Zr-Nb 2,5 % en poids écroui.

1.4
Dans cette norme, le terme « doit » indique une exigence, c’est-à-dire une prescription que l’utilisateur doit respecter pour assurer la conformité à la norme; « devrait » indique une recommandation ou ce qu’il est conseillé, mais non obligatoire de faire; et « peut » indique une possibilité ou ce qu’il est permis de faire.

Les notes qui accompagnent les articles ne comprennent pas de prescriptions ni de recommandations; Elles servent à séparer du texte les explications ou les renseignements qui ne font pas proprement partie de la norme.

Les notes au bas des figures et des tableaux font partie de ceux-ci et peuvent être rédigées comme des prescriptions.

Les annexes sont qualifiées de normatives (obligatoires) ou d’informatives (facultatives) pour en préciser l’application.

Type de publication

Imprimer cette page

En parler à un ami

No d'enregistrement TPS R119441681
No d'enregistrement TV du Québec R1006017360