Skip to content

Publications N288.1-14

Sorry, no image available for N288.1-14

N288.1-14 - Guidelines for calculating derived release limits for radioactive material in airborne and liquid effluents for normal operation of nuclear facilities

Publication Year:

  • 2014

Total Pages:

460

Publisher:

  • CSA
Updates #1and 2 to this standard are available.

To download any updates and/or register for email notification of future updates click here

Preface

This is the third edition of CSA N288.1, Guidelines for calculating derived release limits for radioactive material in airborne and liquid effluents for normal operation of nuclear facilities. It supersedes the previous editions published in 2008 and 1987.

This edition has been updated to provide improved direction on the applicability of the Guideline.

Major changes to this edition include

(a) updates to the following:

    (i) energy expenditures and dietary intake rates for humans;

    (ii) half-lives, gamma energies, and photon yields for all radionuclides;

    (iii) values for many parameters based largely on a new International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) handbook of parameter values (IAEA, 2010);

    (iv) wind direction and precipitation data for use in the wet deposition model; and

    (v) specific activity model for tritium in animals;
(b) introduction of a model for wild waterfowl as an additional source of human exposure through ingestion;

(c) extension of the C-14 specific activity model to cover plant to animal transfer;

(d) provision of equations for explicit accounting of decay and ingrowth in all physical media; and

(e) improved direction on when the Guideline can be used to calculate derived release limits (DRLs) for intermittent releases.

Users of this Guideline are reminded that the site selection, design, manufacture, construction, installation, commissioning, operation, and decommissioning of nuclear facilities in Canada are subject to the Nuclear Safety and Control Act and its Regulations.

CSA N286 provides overall direction to management to develop and implement sound management practices and controls, while the other CSA Group nuclear Standards provide technical requirements and guidance that support the management system. This Guideline works in harmony with CSA N286 and does not duplicate the generic requirements of CSA N286; however, it may provide more specific direction for those requirements.

Introduction

0.1 Derived release limit (DRL)

The DRL for a given radionuclide is the release rate that would cause an individual of the most highly exposed group to receive and be committed to a dose equal to the regulatory annual dose limit due to release of the radionuclide to air or surface water during normal operation of a nuclear facility over the period of a calendar year. The DRL is derived using mathematical equations that describe the transfer of radioactive materials through the environment to humans. It takes into account all exposure pathways, including external exposure from immersion in contaminated air and water, external exposure to contaminated soil and beaches, and internal exposure from inhalation and ingestion of radioactivity. DRLs are normally used in a prospective sense to set release limits for individual radionuclides, but the pathways model described in this Guideline may be adapted for other purposes such as the estimation of annual public doses.

0.2 History of the Guideline

In 1987, CSA Group published CSA N288.1 to provide guidelines and a methodology for calculating DRLs for routine releases of radionuclides to air and surface water from nuclear facilities. Since 1987, significant scientific advances were made in dosimetry and in the understanding of radionuclide behaviour in the environment; thus, there was a general consensus in the Canadian nuclear industry that the models and data in CSA N288.1 needed to be updated. Revision began in 2000 with the development of a derived release limits guidance document prepared for Ontario Power Generation (OPG). This document was specifically designed to calculate DRLs at CANDU® nuclear power generation facilities in southern Ontario (i.e., the Bruce, Pickering, and Darlington stations). In 2006, the document was extended by the CANDU Owners Group (COG) to cover all CANDU facilities in Canada, including the power generation stations at Gentilly (G-2) and Point Lepreau and the research laboratories at Chalk River (CRL). This extended document (Hart, 2008) formed the basis for the second edition of this Guideline and included background material deemed too detailed for inclusion in the Guideline itself. Most of the models and parameter values in the first edition of the Guideline were updated and new exposure pathways were added in producing the second edition, which was issued in 2008. Following publication, users of the Guideline identified a number of minor errors, which were corrected in an amendment issued in July 2011.

0.3 Need for a new edition

Due to lack of time, resources, and information, it was not possible during the development of the second edition to implement all of the changes that were deemed desirable. These changes were set aside so that the second edition could be published in a timely fashion. Work on these changes has continued since through a number of research projects funded by COG. The findings of these projects form the basis for most of the improvements to the third edition. The COG background document (Hart, 2008) was revised in concert with the third edition; the updated version is referred to hereafter as the COG Derived Release Limits Guidance or CDG (Hart, 2013).

0.4 Changes in this edition

The major differences between this and the previous edition of this Guideline include

(a) updated energy expenditures and dietary intake rates for humans;

(b) updated half-lives, gamma energies, and photon yields for all radionuclides;

(c) updated values for many parameters based largely on a new International Atomic Energy Agency handbook of parameter values for environmental transfers of radionuclides (IAEA, 2010);

(d) improved direction on when the Guideline can be used to calculate DRLs for intermittent releases;

(e) updated wind direction and precipitation data for use in the wet deposition model;

(f) introduction of a model for wild waterfowl as an additional source of human exposure through ingestion;

(g) extension of the carbon-14 (C-14) specific activity model to cover plant to animal transfer;

(h) an improved specific activity model for tritium in animals, including an update and extension of the water intake source fractions for fresh and dry feed; and

(i) provision of equations for explicit accounting of decay and progeny ingrowth in all physical media, as an alternative to the use of progeny-inclusive dose coefficients.

Note: CANDU (CANada Deuterium Uranium) is a registered trademark of Atomic Energy of Canada Limited (AECL).

Scope

1.1 Facilities

This Guideline and the CDG are intended to apply primarily to CANDU nuclear power stations in Canada. However, the radionuclides and environmental pathways addressed make this Guideline applicable to releases from many other nuclear facilities, including research reactors, radioisotope processing facilities, waste processing facilities such as incinerators, and power reactors other than those of CANDU design, subject to the limitations detailed in Clauses 1.2 to 1.8. Application to other types of facilities such as fuel fabrication plants and refineries is limited by the radionuclides considered here (see Clause 4.3). This Guideline may be adapted to cover part of the needs of such facilities, but additional models or methodologies might be necessary for other parts. However, neither the radionuclides nor the models included in this Guideline are complete enough to cover releases from sources such as uranium mines and mills, permanent geologic disposal facilities, and other facilities where extensive modelling of groundwater pathways is required.

1.2 Release paths

This Guideline covers releases to the atmosphere and to surface water (both fresh and marine). It does not address releases to groundwater, although transfers from other media to groundwater wells and ponds are considered. Direct gamma irradiation from radioactivity inside the facility is not modelled because it does not involve a release.

1.3 Release duration

The methods specified in this Guideline are designed for routine, continuous, low-level emissions. They also apply to periodic, short-term releases (see Clause 8.2), provided that

(a) the releases are controlled and associated with normal operations;

(b) the release rate is roughly the same from event to event;

(c) for atmospheric releases, the total release duration exceeds approximately 1000 h in the year; for aquatic releases, at least one or two releases occur in each month of the year; and

(d) the releases occur randomly over time.

Where the requirement of Item (d) is not met but the releases are known to occur at a particular time of day or year, this Guideline applies only if the air (water) concentrations are calculated using the meteorological (hydrological) data in effect for that time.

Notes:

(1) Where non-random releases are calculated using time-appropriate data, it might be possible to relax the conditions on the release frequencies.

(2) Releases that do not meet these conditions can use another model, such as that specified in CAN/CSA-N288.2 for atmospheric releases.

(3) For some facilities, intermittent releases occur predictably as spikes on a continuous base release. Such releases can be considered part of routine emissions and included in the DRL without special treatment if the total activity released in intermittent form is less than approximately 30% of the total release from the facility. The 30% cut-off is considered a small fraction of the overall uncertainty of the DRL estimates.

1.4 Contaminants

This Guideline applies to the radiation effects of radionuclides. It does not apply to chemicals or to the chemical toxicity of radionuclides.

1.5 Receptors

DRLs are derived for a representative person having the average characteristics of a group of individuals who, by reason of their location and habits, are likely to receive the highest exposures to a given radionuclide released from a particular source (see Clause 4.2). By maintaining release rates well below the DRL, the annual dose to these individuals (and therefore to all members of the public) will be below regulatory limits. This Guideline does not apply to nuclear energy workers (NEWs), or to non-NEWs working at a nuclear facility, who are assumed to be covered by on-site radiation protection programs. The DRLs calculated using the models specified in this Guideline apply to human end-points only; non-human biota are not covered.

1.6 Downwind distance of validity

This Guideline is not applicable to receptors located close to a source affected by building-induced turbulence because the atmospheric dispersion model does not simulate the cavity that forms in the lee of the building. Because the cavity extends approximately three building heights downwind, this Guideline applies only beyond this distance. Moreover, the dispersion model should be used with caution beyond an approximate distance of 20 km from the facility because the assumption of steady-state meteorological conditions implicit in the model becomes less valid at greater distances. This is not an issue in practice because the representative person is usually found closer to the facility than 20 km.

1.7 Site specificity

Local parameter values should be used wherever possible in calculating DRLs for a specific site. Where local values are not available, the default values given in this Guideline for the region closest to the site of interest may be used. These regional values represent conditions at the main nuclear sites in Canada (i.e., Pickering/Darlington, Bruce, CRL, G-2, and Point Lepreau) but may be interpreted as default values for the regional areas of southern Ontario, western Ontario, eastern Ontario, Québec, and the Maritimes, respectively.

1.8 Level of complexity

1.8.1 Simpler approaches

The models specified in this Guideline are comprehensive and in some cases include considerable detail. This level of complexity might not be warranted for all assessments. Less complex approaches, involving fewer pathways and/or less detail, might be appropriate under some circumstances. Any pathway that can be shown to not contribute significantly to the total dose may be neglected. In these cases, simpler models such as those described by the IAEA Safety Report Series No. 19 may be used, provided that justification for using a simpler approach is provided.

Note: For example, the following need not be considered:

(a) radionuclides that are not released from the site of interest; and

(b) pathways related to wells that are not used as a source of water by members of the public near the site.

1.8.2 Default transfer parameters

A simplified approach is available for application of this Guideline without implementation of the models. Annex A lists default transfer parameters for each radionuclide for each pathway in the model, together with the assumptions made in calculating the values. If the assumptions hold for the application in question, these default values may be used to obtain estimates of the DRLs without implementing the model itself, as demonstrated in Annex B. This allows all of the models and parameter values in this Guideline to be accessed in a simple way. Because conservative assumptions were made in calculating the default parameter values, the DRLs calculated using this approach will be more conservative than those obtained by implementing the model.

1.9 Terminology

In this Guideline, "should" is used to express a recommendation or that which is advised but not required and "may" is used to express an option or that which is permissible within the limits of the Guideline.

Publication type

Print Page

Tell a Friend

GST REG No R119441681
QST REG No R1006017360

Passer au contenu

Publications N288.1-F14

Illustration N288.1-F14 non disponible.

N288.1-F14 - Guide de calcul des limites opérationnelles dérivées de matières radioactives dans les effluents gazeux et liquides durant l'exploitation normale des installations nucléaires

Année de publication:

  • 2014

Nombre total de pages :

396

Éditeur:

  • CSA

Préface

Ce document constitue la troisième édition de la CSA N288.1, Guide de calcul des limites opérationnelles dérivées de matières radioactives dans les effluents aériens et liquides lors de l'exploitation normale des installations nucléaires. Il remplace les éditions précédentes publiées en 2008 et en 1987.

Cette édition a été actualisée afin d'améliorer l'applicabilité du guide. Les principales modifications apportées à cette édition sont, notamment

a) une mise à jour des éléments suivants :

    (i) les dépenses d'énergie et taux d'ingestion alimentaire pour les humains ;

    (ii) les périodes de demi-vie radioactives, les énergies gamma et les rendements photoniques pour tous les radionucléides ;

    (iii) les valeurs d'un grand nombre de paramètres, pour les harmoniser à la nouvelle édition du manuel de l'Agence internationale de l'énergie atomique (AIÉA) intitulé Handbook of parameter values for environmental transfers of radionuclides (AIÉA, 2010) ;

    (iv) les données relatives à la direction du vent et aux précipitations pour la modélisation des dépôts humides ; et

    (v) le modèle d'activité spécifique pour le tritium chez les animaux ;
b) l'introduction d'un modèle applicable au gibier d'eau à plumes comme source additionnelle d'exposition humaine par ingestion ;

c) l'élargissement du modèle d'activité spécifique du C-14 au transfert des plantes aux animaux ;

d) l'ajout d'équations visant le calcul explicite de la désintégration et de la croissance dans tous les milieux physiques ; et

e) une amélioration des indications permettant de mieux savoir quand utiliser le guide pour le calcul des LOD pour les rejets intermittents.

Les utilisateurs de ce guide doivent se rappeler que le choix du site, le calcul, la fabrication, la construction, l'installation, la mise en service, l'exploitation et le déclassement des installations nucléaires au Canada sont des activités régies par la Loi sur la sûreté nucléaire et ses règlements.

La CSA N286 énonce des lignes directrices générales à l'intention des directions d'établissements afin de les aider à élaborer et mettre en oeuvre de saines pratiques de gestion et de solides mécanismes de contrôle, tandis que les autres normes du Groupe CSA du domaine énoncent des exigences et lignes directrices techniques à l'appui des systèmes de gestion. Ce guide peut être utilisé avec la CSA N286 et ne reproduit par les exigences générales énoncées dans la CSA N286. Toutefois, il peut apporter des précisions aux exigences de la CSA N286.

Introduction

0.1 Limite opérationnelle dérivée (LOD)

La LOD d'un radionucléide donné correspond au taux de rejet qui ferait en sorte qu'un individu du groupe surexposé recevrait une dose engagée égale à la limite de dose annuelle réglementaire suite au rejet du radionucléide dans l'air et dans les eaux de surface au cours de l'exploitation normale d'une installation nucléaire pendant une année civile. La dérivation de la LOD s'effectue à l'aide d'équations mathématiques qui décrivent le transfert de matières radioactives par l'environnement aux humains. Elle tient compte de l'ensemble des voies d'exposition, notamment de l'exposition externe due à l'immersion dans de l'air et de l'eau contaminés, de l'exposition externe imputable à des sols et à des plages contaminés, et de l'exposition interne imputable à l'inhalation et à l'ingestion de radioactivité. Les LOD sont habituellement utilisées de façon prospective pour établir les limites de rejet de radionucléides particuliers, mais le modèle de voies de pénétration décrit dans ce guide peut être adapté àd'autres applications comme l'estimation des doses annuelles au public.

0.2 Historique du guide

Le Groupe CSA a publié, en 1987, la CSA N288.1 afin de fournir un guide et une méthode de calcul des LOD des rejets courants de radionucléides dans l'air et dans les eaux de surface par les installations nucléaires. D'importants progrès scientifiques ont été réalisés depuis 1987 en matière de dosimétrie et dans la compréhension du comportement des radionucléides dans l'environnement ; 'industrie nucléaire canadienne a donc reconnu de façon unanime que les modèles et les données contenus dans la CSA N288.1 devaient être mis à jour. La révision s'est d'abord traduite, en l'an 2000, par la production d'un document d'orientation sur les LOD à l'intention de la compagnie Ontario Power Generation (OPG). Ce document visait plus particulièrement à calculer les LOD des centrales nucléaires CANDUMD situées dans le sud de l'Ontario (c.-à-d., Bruce, Pickering et Darlington). En 2006, le Groupe des propriétaires de CANDU (GPC) en a étendu l'application à l'ensemble des installations nucléaires CANDU au Canada, y compris aux centrales nucléaires de Gentilly (G-2) et de Point Lepreau, et aux Laboratoires de recherche de Chalk River (CRL). Ce document (Hart, 2008) a servi de base à la deuxième édition de ce guide et comprenait des références jugées trop détaillées pour le guide. La majorité des modèles et des valeurs des paramètres contenus dans la première édition de ce guide ont été mis à jour, et de nouvelles voies d'exposition ont été ajoutées en vue de la deuxième édition, publiée en 2008. Les utilisateurs du guide ont ensuite relevé bon nombre de petites erreurs qui ont été corrigées sous la forme d'une modification publiée en juillet 2011.

0.3 Pertinence d'une nouvelle édition

En raison du manque de temps, de ressources et d'informations, il n'a pas été possible au moment de l'élaboration de la deuxième édition de mettre en oeuvre toutes les modifications qui avaient été jugées souhaitables. Ces modifications ont été mises de côté afin que la deuxième édition puisse être publiée en temps opportun. Les travaux concernant les modifications mises de côté se sont poursuivis et ont fait l'objet de projets de recherche financés par le GPC. Les résultats de ces recherches sont à la base de la plupart des améliorations apportées à cette troisième édition. Le document de référence du GPC (Hart, 2008) a été revu en même temps que le comité travaillait à la troisième édition ; la nouvelle version est maintenant appelée le Derived Release Limits Guidance ou OLG (Hart, 2013).

0.4 Modifications apportées dans cette édition

La nouvelle édition du guide se distingue principalement de l'édition précédente par les points suivants :

a) mise à jour des dépenses d'énergie et taux d'ingestion alimentaire pour les humains ;

b) mise à jour des périodes de demi-vie radioactives, des énergies gamma et des rendements photoniques pour tous les radionucléides ;

c) mise à jour des valeurs d'un grand nombre de paramètres pour les harmoniser à la nouvelle édition du manuel de l'Agence internationale de l'énergie atomique intitulé Handbook of parameter values for environmental transfers of radionuclides (AIÉA, 2010) ;

d) amélioration des indications permettant de mieux savoir quand utiliser le guide pour le calcul des LOD pour les rejets intermittents ;

e) amélioration des données relatives à la direction du vent et aux précipitations utilisées dans le modèle de calcul des dépôts humides ;

f) introduction d'un modèle applicable au gibier d'eau à plumes comme source additionnelle d'exposition humaine par ingestion ;

g) élargissement du modèle d'activité spécifique du carbone-14 (C-14) au transfert des plantes aux animaux ;

h) amélioration du modèle d'activité spécifique visant la teneur en tritium chez les animaux, y compris une mise à jour et un élargissement des fractions des sources d'ingestion d'eau pour les aliments frais et secs ; et

i) ajout d'équations visant le calcul explicite de la désintégration et de la croissance des radionucléides de filiation dans tous les milieux physiques, comme alternative aux coefficients de dose incluant la descendance.

Note : CANDU (CANada Deutérium Uranium) est une marque de commerce déposée d'Énergie atomique du Canada limitée (EACL).

Domaine d'application

1.1 Installations

Ce guide et le DLG s'appliquent surtout aux centrales nucléaires CANDU au Canada. Les radionucléides et les voies de pénétration dans l'environnement dont elles traitent permettent toutefois de l'appliquer aux rejets de nombreuses autres installations nucléaires, notamment de réacteurs de recherche, d'installations de retraitement des radio-isotopes, d'installations de traitement des déchets telles que les incinérateurs, ainsi que de réacteurs de puissance autres que CANDU, sous réserve des limites indiquées aux articles 1.2 à 1.8. Les radionucléides dont il est question ici (voir l'article 4.3) limitent l'application à d'autres types d'installations comme les usines de fabrication de combustible et les raffineries. Il est possible d'adapter ce guide à certains besoins d'installations semblables, mais il faudra sans doute utiliser d'autres modèles ou méthodes pour les autres installations. Cependant, ni les radionucléides ni les modèles abordés dans ce guide ne sont suffisamment complets pour englober les rejets de sources comme les mines et les usines de concentration d'uranium, les installations permanentes de gestions des déchets dans des formations géologiques et autres installations où une modélisation complète des voies de pénétration dans les eaux souterraines s'impose.

1.2 Voies des rejets

Le guide traite des rejets dans l'atmosphère et dans les eaux de surface (eau douce et eau de mer). Elles ne portent pas sur les rejets dans les eaux souterraines, mais prennent en compte les transferts d'autres milieux vers les puits d'eaux souterraines et les étangs. L'irradiation gamma directe due à la radioactivité présente dans l'installation n'est pas modélisée parce qu'elle ne sous-entend pas un rejet.

1.3 Durée des rejets

Les méthodes décrites dans ce guide visent particulièrement les émissions de faible intensité courantes et continues. Elles s'appliquent également aux rejets périodiques de courte durée (voir l'article 8.2), dans la mesure où :

a) les rejets sont contrôlés et liés à une exploitation normale ;

b) le taux de rejet est sensiblement le même d'un évènement à l'autre ;

c) la durée totale des rejets dans l'atmosphère dépasse environ 1000 heures dans l'année ; au moins un ou deux rejets dans l'eau se produisent pendant chaque mois de l'année ; et

d) les rejets surviennent au hasard au fil du temps.

Si l'alinéa d) n'est pas respecté, mais si on sait que les rejets surviennent généralement à un moment donné de la journée ou de l'année, ce guide ne s'applique que si les concentrations dans l'air ou dans l'eau sont calculées à partir des données météorologiques ou hydrologiques en vigueur à ce moment-là.

Notes :

1) Si le calcul des rejets non aléatoires se fait à partir de données opportunes et pertinentes, il est alors possible d'assouplir les conditions quant à la fréquence des rejets.

2) Les rejets non conformes à ces conditions peuvent employer un autre modèle, notamment celui que spécifie la CAN/CSA-N288.2 au sujet des rejets dans l'atmosphère.

3) Certaines installations produisent des rejets intermittents de façon prévisible comme des pointes dans un rejet continu. Ces rejets peuvent être considérés comme faisant partie des émissions courantes et inclus dans la LOD sans traitement spécial si l'activité nucléaire totale émise de façon intermittente est inférieure d'environ 30 % aux émissions totales de l'installation. Cette réduction de 30 % représente une petite fraction de l'incertitude globale des estimations de LOD.

1.4 Contaminants

Ce guide s'applique aux effets des rayonnements des radionucléides, et non pas aux produits chimiques ou à la toxicité chimique des radionucléides.

1.5 Récepteurs

Le calcul des LOD s'applique à une personne représentative possédant les caractéristiques moyennes d'un groupe d'individus qui, en raison de leur lieu d'habitation et de leurs modes de vie, risquent d'être soumis aux expositions les plus élevées à un radionucléide donné émis par une source précise (voir l'article 4.2). En maintenant les taux de rejet à des niveaux très inférieurs à la LOD, la dose annuelle reçue par ces individus (et donc par tous les membres du public) sera inférieure aux limites réglementaires. Ce guide ne s'applique pas aux travailleurs du secteur nucléaire (TSN), ni aux personnes qui oeuvrent dans une installation nucléaire sans être des travailleurs du secteur nucléaire, qui bénéficient de programmes de radioprotection sur place. Les LOD calculées à l'aide des modèles décrits dans ce guide s'appliquent uniquement aux critères d'évaluation humains ; les biotes non humains ne sont pas touchés.

1.6 Distance sous le vent minimale pour être valide

Ce guide ne s'applique pas aux récepteurs situés à proximité d'une source soumise à la turbulence produite par un bâtiment, parce que le modèle de dispersion atmosphérique ne simule pas le creux qui se forme du côté sous le vent du bâtiment. Comme le creux s'étend sur environ trois hauteurs de bâtiment sous le vent, ce guide ne s'applique qu'au-delà de cette distance. En outre, au-delà d'une distance d'environ 20 km de l'installation, il faudrait se montrer prudent dans l'utilisation du modèle de dispersion, car l'hypothèse de conditions météorologiques stables implicite dans le modèle devient moins valide à de plus grandes distances. Dans la pratique, ceci ne pose pas réellement un problème puisque la personne représentative se trouve habituellement à moins de 20 km de l'installation.

1.7 Régiospécificité

On devrait utiliser le plus possible les valeurs locales des paramètres pour calculer les LOD relatives à un site spécifique. À défaut de valeurs locales, les valeurs par défaut que fournit ce guide pour la région située à proximité du site en cause peuvent être utilisées. Ces valeurs régionales représentent les conditions propres aux principaux sites nucléaires au Canada (c.-à-d., Pickering/Darlington, Bruce, LCR, G-2 et Point Lepreau), mais elles peuvent être considérées comme des valeurs par défaut pour les régions du sud, de l'ouest et de l'est de l'Ontario, du Québec et des provinces maritimes respectivement.

1.8 Niveau de complexité

1.8.1 Approches simplifiées

Les modèles décrits dans ce guide sont complets et comprennent, dans certains cas, une quantité considérable de détails. Un tel niveau de complexité n'est pas nécessairement justifié pour toutes les évaluations. Des approches moins complexes, sous-entendant un moins grand nombre de voies de pénétration ou de détails, peuvent convenir dans certaines circonstances. On peut ne pas tenir compte d'une voie de pénétration qui, selon toute évidence, contribue très peu à la dose totale. Des modèles simplifiés comme ceux que décrit le Rapport de sûreté série n° 19 de l'AIÉA peuvent alors être utilisés, pourvu que l'on justifie l'utilisation d'une approche simplifiée.

Note : Il n'est pas nécessaire, par exemple, de prendre en compte les points suivants :

a) les radionucléides qui ne sont pas émis par le site en cause ; et

b) les voies de pénétration liées à des puits qui ne constituent pas une source d'eau pour les membres du public demeurant à proximité du site.

1.8.2 Paramètres de transfert par défaut

Il existe une approche simplifiée pour appliquer ce guide sans mise en oeuvre des modèles. L'annexe A énumère les paramètres de transfert par défaut pour chaque radionucléide de chaque voie de pénétration prévue dans le modèle, de même que les hypothèses adoptées au moment du calcul des valeurs. Si les hypothèses conviennent à l'application en question, ces valeurs par défaut peuvent servir à évaluer les LOD sans mettre en oeuvre le modèle lui-même, comme le démontre l'annexe B. Cette mesure permet d'accéder sans problème à l'ensemble des modèles et des valeurs des paramètres mentionnés dans ce guide. Comme le calcul des valeurs des paramètres par défaut a permis l'établissement d'hypothèses prudentes, les valeurs de LOD calculées selon cette approche seront plus prudentes que celles obtenues à l'aide du modèle.

1.9 Terminologie

Dans ce guide, le terme "devrait" indique une recommandation ou ce qu'il est conseillé mais non obligatoire de faire et "peut" indique une possibilité ou ce qu'il est permis de faire.

Type de publication

Imprimer cette page

En parler à un ami

No d'enregistrement TPS R119441681
No d'enregistrement TV du Québec R1006017360