Skip to content

Publications S157-17/S157.1-17

Sorry, no image available for S157-17/S157.1-17

S157-17/S157.1-17 - Strength design in aluminum / Commentary on CSA S157-17, Strength design in aluminum

Publication Year:

  • 2017

Total Pages:

229

Publisher:

  • CSA
S157-17/S157.1-17 - Strength design in aluminum / Commentary on CSA S157-17, Strength design in aluminum

Preface

This is the fifth edition of CSA S157, Strength design in aluminum. It supersedes the previous editions published in 2005, 1983, 1969, and 1962.

This Standard is for building applications but it is written in a form that may be used for all types of aluminum load-bearing components or assemblies. Expressions for the strength of structural components are based on the concept of limit states design.

Requirements to satisfy the ultimate limit state form the core of the Standard. As a document referenced by the National Building Code of Canada, the load factors and resistance factors specified by that Code are given. However, because the design expressions predict the nominal resistance of components and connections, this Standard is useful in any field of engineering in which known applied loads are to be supported.

Serviceability limit states depend on the desired behaviour under service loads for each particular application and are not specified in this Standard. For components used in buildings, reference is made to Commentary A of the National Building Code of Canada.

CSA S157.1, Commentary on CSA S157-17, Strength design in aluminum (hereinafter referred to as the Commentary), is provided which, while not a mandatory part of the Standard, is essential to the implementation of this Standard%u2019s requirements. In this Standard, cross-references to the Commentary are identified by the prefix "C" before the clause, table, or figure number.

This edition of CSA S157 contains significant changes from the previous edition and follows, wherever possible, the same order of presentation as CSA S16, in order to facilitate the use of these two Standards:

a) A more comprehensive list of symbols is provided in Clause 3.

b) Clause 4 contains a new set of requirements on structural documents.

c) A significantly longer list of wrought aluminum products conforming to the ASTM specifications is presented in Table 1. Time-temperature limits are provided for T5 and T6 tempers and nominal strengths of aluminum filler metals are given in a new table.

d) In Clause 8, elastic analyses of structures now include second order effects and the effects of geometric imperfections. This has significant implications on the design of members subject to flexure and axial forces (Clause 14).

e) The design of built-up compression members is moved to a mandatory Annex.

f) Clause 11 presents generalized design equations for members subject to lateral-torsional buckling.

g) The extent of the heat-affected-zone (HAZ) in welded connections is redefined in Clause 15. It is now similar to the provisions of Eurocode 9 and Section 17 of CSA S6.

h) A new set of recommendations for the design of screws is included in Clause 16.7.

i) Clauses 18, 20, 21, and 22 on fabrication, erection, inspection and testing, respectively, are new clauses. They are adapted from CSA S16.

j) The specifications on the fatigue of aluminum presented in Clause 23 have been revised by incorporating the detail category and S-N curve definitions from Section 17 of CSA S6. The detail category definitions are similar to the steel definitions in Section 10 of CSA S6. The S-N curve definitions are consistent with the Aluminum Design Manual.

k) Clause 24 presents a new set of provisions for the design of composite beams (concrete slab on aluminum girders). This is an adaptation of the provisions of CSA S16 to aluminum.

CSA Group acknowledges that the development of this Standard was made possible, in part, by the financial support of the Aluminum Association of Canada, Alubec, and the Centre québécois de recherche et de développement de l%u2019aluminium.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

S157-17 - Strength design in aluminum

Scope

1.1 Applicability

This Standard applies to limit state design, fabrication, erection, and inspection of aluminum alloy members and assemblies

a) intended to comply with building codes such as the National Building Code of Canada (NBCC); or

b) not addressed by another CSA Group standard.

When this Standard is referenced by other CSA Group standards (e.g., product standards), the requirements of this Standard apply as so specified in the referencing CSA Group standard.

Note: Annex A lists some applications to which other standards apply.

1.2 Other standards

The use of other standards for the design, fabrication, erection, and/or inspection of members or parts of aluminum structures is neither warranted nor acceptable except where specifically directed in this Standard. The substitution of other standards or criteria for design, fabrication, erection, and/or inspection is expressly prohibited unless specifically directed in this Standard.

1.3 Rational design

Where this Standard does not provide requirements for a specific situation, a rational design is to be used, based on appropriate theories, tests, analyses, or engineering experience. The design formulas provided in this Standard may be supplemented by such a rational design, provided that nominal margins (or factors) of safety are at least equal to those intended in the provisions of this Standard.

1.4 Terminology

In this Standard, "shall" is used to express a requirement, i.e., a provision that the user is obliged to satisfy in order to comply with the Standard; "should" is used to express a recommendation or that which is advised but not required; and "may" is used to express an option or that which is permissible within the limits of the Standard.

Notes accompanying clauses do not include requirements or alternative requirements; the purpose of a note accompanying a clause is to separate from the text explanatory or informative material.

Notes to tables and figures are considered part of the table or figure and may be written as requirements.

Annexes are designated normative (mandatory) or informative (non-mandatory) to define their application.

1.5 Units of measure

The expressions contained herein are dimensionally uniform, and any consistent system of units may be employed. Where dimensions are identified, SI units are used, typically newtons (N) for force, millimetres (mm) for length, and megapascals (MPa = N/mm2) for stress.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

S157.1-17 - Commentary on CSA S157-17, Strength design in aluminum

Introduction

Two earlier standards for structural design in aluminum, CSA S157-1969, Structural Use of Aluminum in Buildings, and CSA S190-1968, Design of Light Gauge Aluminum Products, were based on working stress design in imperial units. These two standards were replaced in 1983 by one standard, CAN3-S157-M83, Strength Design in Aluminum, using limit states design and SI units and, in 2005, by S157-05, Strength design in aluminum.

Since the publication of the last Standard, there have been a number of developments in the philosophy of structural design in aluminum and a sufficiently large body of new knowledge from experimental and research activities to warrant revisions to the Standard in the interest of uniformity of security, improved economy, and a consistency of design philosophy throughout the procedures presented.

This Standard provides instruction for the design of aluminum load-bearing components. The procedures give the ultimate limit state, which is defined as the highest force the component or assembly will sustain prior to collapse or uncontrolled deformation.

Design treatments have been selected to provide nominal strength that have a high probability of being exceeded. The level of precision of the methods and materials used in structural engineering, as well as the scatter of test results, is such that no more than two significant figures can be justified for the coefficients in the design formulas.

Scope

As it is referenced by the National Building Code of Canada, CSA S157 includes requirements that are specific to buildings, and the load and resistance factors given are for the design of building components. However, the design procedures determine the ultimate resistances of members and connections; thus, CSA S157 has general validity and is expected to be applied to all types of load- bearing aluminum assemblies where there is no other design standard. Aircraft design, pressure vessel design, and other well-established fields have their own bodies of rules. CSA S157 is aimed at general engineering, which includes such applications as lattice towers, cranes, vehicles, and rolling stock.

Publication type

Print Page

Tell a Friend

GST REG No R119441681
QST REG No R1006017360

Passer au contenu

Publications S157-F17/S157.1-F17

Illustration S157-F17/S157.1-F17 non disponible.

S157-F17/S157.1-F17 - Calcul de la résistance mécanique des éléments en aluminium / Commentaire sur CSA S157-17, Calcul de la résistance mécanique des éléments en aluminium

Année de publication:

  • 2017

Nombre total de pages :

245

Éditeur:

  • CSA
S157-F17/S157.1-F17 - Calcul de la résistance mécanique des éléments en aluminium / Commentaire sur CSA S157-17, Calcul de la résistance mécanique des éléments en aluminium

Préface

Ce document constitue la cinquième édition de CSA S157, Calcul de la résistance mécanique des éléments en aluminium. Il remplace les éditions précédentes publiées en 2005, 1983, 1969 et 1962.

Cette norme traite de l’utilisation de l’aluminium dans la construction des bâtiments, mais elle est rédigée de manière à pouvoir être utilisée pour tout type d’élément ou d’assemblage porteur en aluminium. L’expression des valeurs de résistance des éléments de charpente est basée sur le principe du calcul aux états limites.

Les exigences de conformité à l’état limite ultime sont au coeur même de la norme. Ce document étant cité en référence dans le Code national du bâtiment du Canada, les coefficients de charge et de teneur en service prescrits dans le code y sont utilisés. Toutefois, comme l’expression des valeurs de calcul prédit la résistance nominale des éléments et des assemblages, cette norme est utile dans tout secteur du génie dans lequel des charges appliquées connues doivent être supportées.

Les états limites d’utilisation dépendent du comportement désiré en présence des charges de service propres à chaque utilisation particulière, et ils ne sont pas prescrits dans cette norme. Pour les éléments utilisés dans la construction des bâtiments, le Commentaire A du Code national du bâtiment du Canada devrait être consulté.

Le Commentaire sur CSA S157-17, Calcul de la résistance mécanique des éléments en aluminium (appelé le « Commentaire ») est intégré à la norme et, bien que ne constituant pas une partie obligatoire, il est essentiel à la mise en application des exigences de cette norme. Dans cette norme, les références au Commentaire sont identifiées par la lettre « C » placée avant chaque numéro d’article, de tableau ou de figure.

Des changements importants ont été apportés à CSA S157 depuis l’édition précédente. Cette norme suit, dans la mesure du possible, l’ordre de présentation de CSA S16, pour faciliter la consultation de ces deux normes :

a) Une liste de symboles plus complète est présentée à l’article 3.

b) L’article 4 présente un nouvel ensemble d’exigences relatives aux documents sur les structures.

c) Une liste de produits en aluminium corroyés sensiblement plus longue, conforme aux spécifications de l’ASTM est présentée au tableau 1. Des seuils de temps-température, prévus pour les états de dureté et les résistances T5 et T6 des alliages d’apport en aluminium, sont fournis dans un nouveau tableau.

d) À l’article 8, les analyses d’élasticité des charpentes comprennent maintenant les effets de second ordre et les effets liés aux imperfections géométriques. Ils ont une importante influence sur la conception des éléments soumis à la flexion et aux forces axiales (article 14).

e) Une annexe obligatoire traite maintenant de la conception des éléments composés comprimés.

f) L’article 11 présente des équations de calcul généralisées pour les éléments qui sont soumis au flambage latéral en torsion.

g) L’étendue de la zone thermiquement affectée des assemblages soudés est redéfinie à l’article 15. Cela est maintenant plus conforme aux exigences de l’Eurocode 9 et de l’article 17 de CSA S6.

h) Une nouvelle série de recommandations pour la conception de vis est présentée à l’article 16.7.

i) Les articles 18, 20, 21 et 22 portant respectivement sur la fabrication, le montage, les inspections et les essais sont nouveaux. Ils sont adaptés à partir de CSA S16.

j) Les spécifications sur la résistance à la fatigue de l’aluminium présentées à l’article 23 ont été révisées en incorporant les définitions de catégorie détaillée et les définitions des courbes S-N de l’article 17 de CSA S6. Les définitions de catégorie détaillée sont semblables aux définitions relatives à l’acier de l’article 10 de CSA S6. Les définitions des courbes S-N sont conformes à celles de l’Aluminum Design Manual.

k) L’article 24 présente un nouvel ensemble d’exigences pour la conception de poutres composites (dalle de béton sur poutres-maîtresses en aluminium). Il a été adapté pour l’aluminium à partir des exigences de CSA S16.

Le Groupe CSA tient à souligner que l’élaboration de cette norme a été rendue possible, en partie, par le soutien financier de l’Association de l’aluminium du Canada, d’Alubec et du Centre québécois de recherche et de développement de l’aluminium.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

S157-F17 - Calcul de la résistance mécanique des éléments en aluminium

Domaine d’application

1.1 Applicabilité

Cette norme traite du calcul à l’état limite, de la fabrication, du montage et des inspections des éléments et des ensembles en alliage d’aluminium :

a) qui sont conformes aux codes du bâtiment comme le Code national du bâtiment du Canada (CNBC); ou

b) dont aucune autre norme du Groupe CSA ne traite.

Lorsque d’autres normes du Groupe CSA (p. ex., les normes de produits) renvoient à cette norme, les exigences de cette dernière s’appliquent selon les renseignements fournis dans ces autres normes du Groupe CSA.

Note : L’annexe A énumère certaines applications auxquelles s’appliquent d’autres normes.

1.2 Autres normes

Le recours à d’autres normes pour le calcul, la fabrication, le montage et/ou les inspections des éléments ou des parties de charpente en aluminium n’est ni justifié ni acceptable, sauf indication contraire dans la présente norme. Le remplacement d’autres normes ou critères de calcul, de fabrication, de montage et/ou d’inspection est strictement interdit, sauf indication contraire dans la présente norme.

1.3 Calcul rationnel

Lorsque cette norme ne fournit pas d’exigences applicables à une situation particulière, un calcul rationnel doit être utilisé, fondé sur des théories, des essais et des analyses appropriées, ou encore sur l’expérience technique. Les formules de calcul énoncées dans cette norme peuvent être complétées par un tel calcul rationnel, à condition que les marges (ou les coefficients) de sécurité nominale soient au moins égales à celles prévues dans les exigences de cette norme.

1.4 Terminologie

Dans cette norme, le terme « doit » indique une exigence, c’est-à-dire une prescription que l’utilisateur doit respecter pour assurer la conformité à la norme; « devrait » indique une recommandation ou ce qu’il est conseillé mais non obligatoire de faire; et « peut » indique une possibilité ou ce qu’il est permis de faire.

Les notes qui accompagnent les articles ne comprennent pas de prescriptions ni de recommandations. Elles servent à séparer du texte les explications ou les renseignements qui ne font pas proprement partie de la norme.

Les notes au bas des figures et des tableaux font partie de ceux-ci et peuvent être rédigées comme des prescriptions.

Les annexes sont qualifiées de normatives (obligatoires) ou d’informatives (facultatives) pour en préciser l’application.

1.5 Unités de mesure

Les valeurs contenues dans cette norme sont dimensionnellement uniformes et tout système cohérent d’unités peut être employé. Les dimensions précisées sont exprimées en unités SI, habituellement en newton (N) dans le cas de la force, en millimètre (mm) dans le cas de la longueur, et en mégapascal (MPa = N/mm2) dans le cas des contraintes.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

S157.1-F17 - Commentaire sur CSA S157-17, Calcul de la résistance mécanique des éléments en aluminium

Introduction

Deux normes antérieures sur le calcul des charpentes en aluminium, soit CSA S157-1969, Structural Use of Aluminum in Buildings, et CSA S190-1968, Design of Light Gauge Aluminum Products, étaient basées sur le calcul des contraintes admissibles en unités de mesure anglo-saxonnes. Ces deux normes ont été remplacées par une seule, en 1983, soit CAN3-S157-M83, Calcul de la résistance mécanique des éléments en aluminium, qui faisait appel au calcul aux états limites et dans laquelle étaient utilisées les unités SI, puis en 2005, par S157-05, Calcul de la résistance mécanique des éléments en aluminium.

Depuis la publication de la dernière norme en 1983, beaucoup d’éléments nouveaux se sont ajoutés à la compréhension du calcul des charpentes en aluminium ainsi que de nouvelles connaissances tirées de l’expérience et des recherches suffisamment importantes pour justifier la révision de la norme dans l’intérêt de l’uniformité au chapitre de la sécurité, d’une économie améliorée et de la cohérence des principes de conception dans l’ensemble des modes opératoires présentés.

Cette norme fournit des directives sur le calcul des éléments porteurs en aluminium. Les modes opératoires donnent l’état limite ultime, lequel se définit comme étant la force la plus élevée que le composant d’élément ou l’assemblage pourra soutenir avant l’effondrement ou la déformation désordonnée.

Les traitements de calcul ont été sélectionnés dans le but de fournir des résistances nominales qui risquent fortement d’être dépassées. Le niveau de précision des méthodes et les matériaux utilisés en ingénierie des structures de même que la dispersion des résultats des essais sont tels qu’au plus deux chiffres significatifs sont en mesure d’être justifiés à l’égard des coefficients utilisés dans les formules de calcul.

Domaine d’application

Comme elle est citée en référence dans le Code national du bâtiment du Canada, CSA S157 énonce des exigences spécifiques aux bâtiments et les coefficients de charge et de tenue en service donnés doivent servir au calcul des composants d’éléments des bâtiments. Toutefois, étant donné que les méthodes de calcul déterminent les résistances ultimes des éléments et des assemblages, CSA S157 a une validité générale et serait donc tenu d’être appliquée à tous les types d’assemblages porteurs en aluminium pour lesquels il n’existe pas d’autres normes de calcul. Les domaines tels ceux de la conception desaéronefs et des appareils sous pression, ainsi que d’autres domaines bien établis disposent de leurs propres ensembles de règles. CSA S157 vise les services techniques généraux, lesquels incluent des applications comme les pylônes, les grues, les véhicules et le matériel roulant.

Type de publication

Imprimer cette page

En parler à un ami

No d'enregistrement TPS R119441681
No d'enregistrement TV du Québec R1006017360