Skip to content

Publications Z10535.2-17

Sorry, no image available for Z10535.2-17

Z10535.2-17 - Lifts for the transfer of persons - Installation, use, and maintenance

Publication Year:

  • 2017

Total Pages:

70

Publisher:

  • CSA

Preface

This is the first edition of CSA Z10535.2, Lifts for the transfer of persons - Installation, use, and maintenance.

This Standard includes additional stakeholders such as manufacturers, suppliers, installers, managers, administrators, trainers, caregivers, operators, maintenance/technical personnel and their employers which were not previously addressed in CAN/CSA-Z10535.1, which is primarily a design standard for manufacture. Evidence from Health Canada's incident reporting justified the creation of this CSA Group Standard due to the numbers of incidents where clients and staff either were seriously injured or had died following misuse, improper installation, or maintenance. Client lifts are very diverse when considering the many different mechanisms of hoisting and accessories which are between the client and the lifting device itself. This diversity can cause confusion and problems if lifts are not installed, used and maintained appropriately and with the proper training.

CSA Group acknowledges that the development of this Standard was made possible, in part, by the financial support of the governments of Alberta, British Columbia, Manitoba, New Brunswick, Newfoundland and Labrador, Northwest Territories, Nova Scotia, Nunavut, Ontario, Prince Edward Island, Québec, Saskatchewan, and Yukon, as administered by the Canadian Association for Drugs and Technology in Health (CADTH).

Scope

1.1
This Standard applies to lifts and accessories used to transfer persons, specifically by suspending from above or supporting from below, between beds, chairs, stretchers, bathtubs, or other similar resting places or standing. This Standard applies to fixed and mobile lifts, lifting arm-or rail-mounted, including lifts often referred to as ceiling-lifts, portable-lifts, floor-lifts, sit-to-stand lifts, bathtub-chair lifts, and their slings, components, and accessories, etc.

Note: Annex A illustrates lift equipment and terminology. Annex B contains cross-references of terms from CAN/CSA-Z10535.1 and this Standard.

1.2
This Standard specifies safety requirements for lifts for the transfer of persons and related practices, including

a) installation;

b) commissioning;

c) inspection;

d) maintenance;

e) testing (performance-verification);

f) care and use; and

g) cleaning and infection control.

1.3
This Standard is intended for use by manufacturers, suppliers, installers, managers, administrators, trainers, caregivers, operators, maintenance/technical personnel, and their employers. The requirements of this Standard are formulated with regard to the needs of both the client being lifted and the caregiver using the lift.

1.4
This Standard does not apply to the design and manufacturing specifications of lifts, which are specified in CAN/CSA-Z10535.1.

1.5
This Standard does not apply to

a) devices that transport persons between two levels (floors) of a building (e.g., elevators, escalators, stair lifts, etc.);

b) beds, stretchers, powered lift chairs, wheeled chairs, or other devices used to transport short distances between locations;

c) air-supported transfer mattresses and mats; and

d) non-powered or inactive lifting aids that statically assist or support a client.

Note: A non-powered lifting aid requires clients to actively support themselves to some extent.

1.6
In this Standard, "shall" is used to express a requirement, i.e., a provision that the user is obliged to satisfy in order to comply with the Standard; "should" is used to express a recommendation or that which is advised but not required; and "may" is used to express an option or that which is permissible within the limits of the Standard.

Notes accompanying clauses do not include requirements or alternative requirements; the purpose of a note accompanying a clause is to separate from the text explanatory or informative material.

Notes to tables and figures are considered part of the table or figure and may be written as requirements.

Annexes are designated normative (mandatory) or informative (non-mandatory) to define their application.

1.7
The values given in SI units are the units of record for the purposes of this Standard. The values given in parenthesis are for information and comparison only.

Publication type

Print Page

Tell a Friend

GST REG No R119441681
QST REG No R1006017360

Passer au contenu

Publications Z10535.2-F17

Illustration Z10535.2-F17 non disponible.

Z10535.2-F17 - Lève-personnes utilisés pour le déplacement de personnes - Installation, utilisation et entretien

Année de publication:

  • 2017

Nombre total de pages :

76

Éditeur:

  • CSA

Préface

Ce document constitue la première édition de CSA Z10535.2, Lève-personnes utilisés pour le déplacement de personnes - Installation <(>, utilisation et entretien.

Cette norme tient compte d'autres intervenants comme les fabricants, fournisseurs, installateurs, gestionnaires, administrateurs, formateurs, soignants, utilisateurs, le personnel chargé de l'entretien et le personnel technique et leurs employeurs que CAN/CSA-Z10535.1 (qui est principalement une norme de conception visant la fabrication) ne prenait pas en considération. Des éléments de preuve tirés des signalements d'incidents publiés par Santé Canada justifiaient la création de cette norme du Groupe CSA en raison du nombre d'incidents liés à une mauvaise utilisation, une mauvaise installation ou un entretien inadéquat de l'équipement ayant entraîné, chez des clients et des membres du personnel, des blessures graves, voire la mort. Les lève-personnes sont très diversifiés lorsque sont considérés les différents mécanismes de levage et les accessoires qui se trouvent entre le client et l'appareil de levage lui-même. Cette diversité peut entraîner de la confusion et des problèmes si les lève-personnes ne sont pas installés, utilisés et entretenus de manière appropriée par des personnes qui ont reçu une formation adéquate.

Le Groupe CSA tient à souligner que l'élaboration de cette norme a été rendue possible, en partie, par le soutien financier des gouvernements de l'Alberta, de la Colombie-Britannique, du Manitoba, du Nouveau-Brunswick, de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, des Territoires du Nord-Ouest, de la Nouvelle-Écosse, du Nunavut, de l'Ontario, de l'île du Prince-Édouard, du Québec, de la Saskatchewan et du Yukon, administré par l'Agence canadienne des médicaments et des technologies de la santé (ACMTS).

Domaine d'application

1.1
Cette norme vise les lève-personnes et les accessoires utilisés pour déplacer des personnes et conçus notamment pour suspendre ou soutenir les clients, entre les lits, les chaises, les civières, les bains (ou à d'autres endroits où le client est étendu, assis ou debout). Cette norme vise les lève-personnes fixes et mobiles, les bras de levage et les lève-personnes sur rail, y compris ceux qui sont souvent appelés lève-personnes sur rail au plafond, lève-personnes portables, lève-personnes mobiles au sol, leviers à station debout, lève-personnes de bain ainsi que les toiles, composants et accessoires connexes, etc.

Note : L'annexe A offre des illustrations de lève-personnes et fournit la terminologie. L'annexe B établit la correspondance entre les termes utilisés dans la CAN/CSA-Z10535.1 et dans cette norme.

1.2
Cette norme énonce les exigences en matière de sécurité visant les lève-personnes utilisés pour déplacer des personnes et les pratiques connexes, y compris :

a) l'installation;

b) la mise en service;

c) l'inspection;

d) l'entretien;

e) les essais (vérification de la performance);

f) l'entretien régulier et l'utilisation; et

g) le nettoyage et la prévention et le contrôle des infections.

1.3
Cette norme s'adresse aux fabricants, fournisseurs, installateurs, gestionnaires, administrateurs, formateurs, soignants, utilisateurs, au personnel chargé de l'entretien et au personnel technique et à leurs employeurs. Les exigences de cette norme sont formulées en fonction des besoins du client qui doit être déplacé et du soignant qui utilise le lève-personne.

1.4
Cette norme ne concerne pas les spécifications de conception et de fabrication des lève-personnes, qui sont énoncées dans CAN/CSA-Z10535.1.

1.5
Cette norme ne vise pas :

a) les appareils utilisés pour déplacer des personnes entre deux étages d'un bâtiment (p. ex., les escaliers mécaniques, les ascenseurs, les monte-escaliers, etc.);

b) les lits, civières, fauteuils releveurs électriques, fauteuils roulants ou autres appareils utilisés pour déplacer des personnes d'un endroit à un autre sur de courtes distances;

c) les matelas de transfert gonflables; et

d) les supports de levage non alimentés ou inactifs utilisés pour soutenir un client de façon statique.

Note : Un support de levage non alimenté nécessite du client qu'il puisse se supporter par lui-même dans une certaine mesure.

1.6
Dans cette norme, le terme « doit » indique une exigence, c'est-à-dire une prescription que l'utilisateur doit respecter pour assurer la conformité à la norme; « devrait » indique une recommandation ou ce qu'il est conseillé, mais non obligatoire de faire; et « peut » indique une possibilité ou ce qu'il est permis de faire.

Les notes qui accompagnent les articles ne comprennent pas de prescriptions ni de recommandations. Elles servent à séparer du texte les explications ou les renseignements qui ne font pas proprement partie de la norme.

Les notes au bas des figures et des tableaux font partie de ceux-ci et peuvent être rédigées comme des prescriptions.

Les annexes sont qualifiées de normatives (obligatoires) ou d'informatives (facultatives) pour en préciser l'application.

1.7
Les valeurs indiquées en unités SI sont les valeurs officielles dans cette norme. Les valeurs entre parenthèses sont données à titre d'information et aux fins de comparaison seulement.

Type de publication

Imprimer cette page

En parler à un ami

No d'enregistrement TPS R119441681
No d'enregistrement TV du Québec R1006017360